The simplicity in gratitude

Image via TheWallPapers.org

A few years ago, a friend told me that each night she acknowledges twenty things to be grateful for before letting herself drift off to sleep. My response was, “Twenty? How do you manage that?!” She gently replied, “It’s easy, there are so many more things to be grateful for. Once you start acknowledging you will realise.”

I realised, in fact, that I’d thought it would be difficult because many of the things I should have been grateful for, I took for granted.

What I learned is that when you become more grateful, you become more happy.

The challenge, of course, lies in sustaining gratitude when things aren’t going your way.

So when you’ve missed the bus and are running late, and it’s raining and you wore the wrong shoes, and you forgot to pack your lunch and you already feel hungry – can you go to a place of gratitude? In that place you catch the next bus, own several pairs of shoes, won’t be hungry for long, and will soon be dry and warm.

Are there simple things you are grateful for?

 

Related articles

Comments
3 Responses to “The simplicity in gratitude”
  1. I think this is a really great concept and one that more people should consider especially given the social media driven environment we live in. Facebook and Twitter glorify ‘first world problems’ and present incredibly deceptive versions of our friends and acquaintances that make us question the status of our own lives. Everyone presents the best version of themselves online and it often leads to feelings on inadequacy. I have to admit, there are some instances in which I’ll be having a really nice day until I log into Facebook and see that a friend is going on an overseas adventure, or just got a cool new job, or went out to a party I wasn’t invited to. What that happens, I immediately forget about the fact that my day was going just great and that I am fortunate enough to have had the off time available to mess around on my computer. When I became aware of the negative aspects of such thoughts I made a point to try to have a bit of perspective so those feelings have significantly lessened over time. However, I think thinking of 20 things each night, or even starting out with just one or two things to be really grateful for will open up a whole new aspect of what it is to live a good and happy life. Great initiative!

    • sarina says:

      Thank you for your thoughtful comment. You have a great point regarding how social media has given rise to us comparing our lives to the lives of others. I think not only do people present their best selves online, they are more likely to post when exciting/interesting things are happening in their lives. So when we log on, we are really seeing a snapshot of people’s lives – the best bits! You might have inspired a future post…

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

